Meet the delegation of week two!

It has been an exciting and eventful first week of COP21, which finally ended with an overwhelming IFSA and youth involvement at the GLF on Sunday evening.

Now there are only a few hours left until the gates of the COP venue at Le Bourget will open again and the second week of COP21 will officially begin. It’s high time to introduce the week two delegation to you!

Meet Justine, Jesse, Asti, Andrea, and Niclas:

Justine Moonens

Hi, I’m Justine, a bachelor student Forest-and Nature Conservation from Wageningen University in the Netherlands. I follow a Major in Ecology & Management combined with Minor in Sociology and Philosophy of justineEconomics. In general, I expect the COP to be a first step towards all states committing to genuine climate action and to lead to an agreement where the commitments/contributions of states can be revised and strengthened over the years. I hope that during the coming weeks an equitable agreement will be reached where pressing issue’s such as loss & damage will be properly addressed. During this COP I have a particular interest in the evolution of the principle of common but differentiated responsibilities and respective capabilities (CBDRC) and how this will reflect on climate change mitigation and adaption of developed and developing countries, and the non-carbon benefits of REDD+.

 

Jesse Way

Hello IFSA world, friends, followers and fellow bloggers!

My name is Jesse Way and I will be heading to Paris as an IFSA delegate to attend the second week of COP as well as participate in the Global Landscapes Forum and the Youth in Landscapes initiative.

JWay photoI live in the Lower Fraser River Valley in Vancouver, BC. Canada, where I graduated this past May from the University of British Columbia’s Faculty of Forestry with a Bachelor of Science in Natural Resources Conservation. I completed a Practicum in Sustainable Agriculture from the Centre for Sustainable Food Systems at UBC Farm this past year as well and am now completing a Certificate in Watershed Management through UBC’s Faculty of Land and Food Systems while working in research investigating the impacts of human land uses such as forestry, agriculture and mining, on stream ecosystems.

I was born and raised in the Upper Thames River watershed of Southwestern Ontario, Canada where I grew up on a dairy farm. Growing up on a farm allowed me to connect with the natural world at a very young age and now I seek to better understand how we as humans impact and depend upon planet Earth’s vital natural systems. This drive to better understand the human management of Earth’s natural resources has now lead me to Paris where I will be able to engage on issues relating to the need for more integrated landscape management and how we as a species and society will move forward in addressing the global environmental challenges of our day. With climate change at the forefront of the discussion in Paris I also look forward to discussing solutions for addressing interconnected environmental and socioeconomic issues such as global food and water security.

I believe strongly in the positive role of youth in addressing the environmental challenges we face as we are the ones that will be living with the consequences of further inaction. I look forward to being an active participant in Paris in discussing the solutions for going forward. I believe solutions already exist and are being carried out throughout the world at various levels and I see COP 21 in Paris as a means of helping to recognize and promote these solutions through enhancing the global dialogue on the need for improved environmental management and the role that each of us as individuals play in helping to enact these solutions.

To me ‘UNFCCC COP 21’, ‘the 2015 Paris Climate Talks’, “the UN climate negotiations’ or whichever other term or phrase you prefer to use to describe the upcoming global dialogue on climate in Paris is not just a formal UN negotiating process to be carried out by UN member states for establishing a legally binding agreement on carbon emissions in an attempt to limit the rise of average global temperature to below 2 degrees Celsius by 2100 through the use of Intended Nationally Determined Contributions (INDCs), because what does that really mean?!

To me ‘COP 21’ represents all activities and events that will be taking place not only in Paris but all around the world that allow for a truly global discussion on the current state of environmental affairs that we as the human race currently face here on Earth. With Paris as the headquarters, the discussion around the human impact on climate and what the necessary steps forward are will transcend all borders and together we will carry out the actions required to create the more just and equitable world we all know is possible.

I look forward to connecting with all of you throughout my time in Paris to provide a first person, on the ground account of the activities and discussions that will taking place over the next few weeks!

Jesse

 

Asti Utama

Hello IFSA!

I am a second year forestry student. I live in one of big cities in Indonesia that is located on the coastal line, and in this recent years the frequency of flood is getting higher that leads my city to serious catastrophe that makeasti the land surface getting lower because of the rising of sea level as the impact of climate change. From the experience of attending this conference, I hope I can understand the decision so that I can transmit the information to my country and my community especially in my city and give supporting consideration for my city’s official governance so that they can make the adaptation and mitigation of this condition caused by the climate change.

 

Andrea Vasquez

andrea

My name is Andrea and I’m form Peru. I earned my B.Sc. in Forest Engineering in the Agrarian University of La Molina and my M.Sc. in the sociopolitical aspects of Forestry in the University of British Columbia. Currently, I’m pursuing a PhD in UBC and continue investigating in alliance with Amazonian indigenous peoples their systems of self-government and mechanisms of self-determination using indigenous theories and methodologies.

 

Niclas Aleff

Hello IFSA community!

I’m Niclas from Freiburg, Germany. I am a bachelor student of forest science at the University of Freiburg.

COP21 will be the first big conference I am attending. I personally see this event on one hand as a great chance to extend my knowledge about the Niclas-2issue of global climate change and the various aspects coming along with it. I’m looking forward to learning about different stakeholders, ecosystems, as well as ideas and solutions to tackle and eventually limit climate change. On the other hand I’m curious to see how the negotiations take place. I’m hoping to get a better understanding of the decision making process and the dynamics of such an important, and big international event.

For the conference as such I’m hoping, as probably everybody does, that a legally binding agreement will be reached and the still far away aim to limit global warming will get closer.

I feel honored to be part of the IFSA delegation and am looking forward to sharing our experiences and impressions during the next week with you!

Best, Nic

Leave a Reply

